Oh boy

Man Repeller feels like home. I’m actually annoyed that I’ve been under a rock and therefore without it until recently, but ever since stumbling on it a few months ago I’ve quickly become a groupie. I mean that seriously: it’s not enough for me to simply read their posts. I watch the Youtube videos, the Youtube profiles on Leandra and Amelia, and most recently, I’ve been hooked (by my ‘ZARA WOMAN‘ coat label, and rather comfortably) on its ‘Oh Boy’ podcast.

The whole series is a dream. Admittedly I’m still working through all the episodes (quite quickly, I might add). But listening to the ambitious, funny, talented, smart and generally very likeable guests talk to the host, Jay Buim, about their upbringing and other random (but relevant) musings, is like tucking in to an aural comfort blanket. Jay starts each episode (that I’ve listened to) stating how much he enjoyed talking to such and such in his kitchen. You’d be tempted to employ a thick layer of skepticism to your thinking here, but it’s not merited. The conversation really is that enjoyable. 

And even though he asks the same questions each time, the format of the podcast does not get tired – each interviewee has an interesting story to tell, even if it sounds pretty ordinary. Plus, he’s a great conversationalist – easy going and flows with the tide of his interviewees responses, while adding anecdotes of his own experiences.

My favourite episode so far? It’s difficult to choose between Emily Weiss, Founder of Into The Gloss and Glossier, Leandra Medine, OG Man Repeller, and MR Deputy Editor, Amelia Diamond. But I think the conversation flows best between Buim and Diamond – she sounds so pleasant and has a great rapport with him. I imagine she would be exactly the same in person (…as opposed to in voice). But each story is so inspiring to me especially at this juncture in my life – because they are so relatable. Like when Diamond talks about an interview mishap in which she messed up due to her ‘cockiness’, or when she likens her assisting on the set of a Grace Coddington shoot to something from my favourite film, the Devil Wears Prada (“WE NEED MORE CHAINS!!”).

I also love listening to their ‘connect the dots’ tales of how they reached their current position. Hearing about the mustard seed beginnings of the enviably slick beauty brand Glossier, is like super greens for my ambitious streak. 

10/10, would recommend. Great stuff.

Leave a Reply

