Coincidental Advice

See! I knew that archiving inspirational quotes would pay off one day. I just found the one below in a document, and it has turned out to be coincidentally helpful. I can’t remember where I came across it, but my psychic powers figured that the future me would need it.

“…I would like to beg you dear Sir, as well as I can, to have patience with everything unresolved in your heart and to try to love the questions themselves as if they were locked rooms or books written in a very foreign language. Don’t search for the answers, which could not be given to you now, because you would not be able to live them. And the point is to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps then, someday far in the future, you will gradually, without even noticing it, live your way into the answer.”

– Rainer Maria Rilke, 1903
in Letters to a Young Poet

I think this is quite common but towards the evenings, I tend to feel emotions more intensely. At the same time, I feel more creative and more inclined to get things done. However, this evening has been one of contemplation and anxiety. Do you ever get a tightening sensation in your chest? Well, I felt that earlier, and I still feel it now. I’m not sure what has induced it, but I think i just need to learn to de-clutter my mind. It is easy to let one’s stresses creep up however, as the quote above reminds me, we cannot know all the answers to the questions in our heads. Not all at once, anyway.

 

Leave a Reply

