Taiye Selasi on the Louisiana Channel

I first encountered Taiye a couple of years ago on BBCs ‘Newsnight’ (I think), which prompted me to order her then new book, ‘Ghana Must Go’. Unfortunately, I never got a chance to read it, thanks to my sister who intercepted it from me, before I could even unwrap it from the Amazon packaging. However, it seems my chance has been recovered! Having being reminded of it by this video, I will start reading tonight.

Anywho, in the same way that I was inspired by her term ‘Afropolitan’ the first time I saw her (a term to which I relate), I have been inspired once again. Here, she discusses the difficulties she faced during her writing process, her take on the characters in the book, and how she defines herself as a ‘multi-local’ person. I love the way she expresses herself so elegantly and humanly at the same time. A recommended watch :).

One thought on “Taiye Selasi on the Louisiana Channel

Leave a Reply

